• Page:

TOPIC: Italeri acrylic paint testing

Italeri acrylic paint testing 2 weeks 4 days ago #1

• Phil
  • Phil's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 88
Today I received a box of 30 Italeri acrylic model paints that the original owner had struggled to use successfully and passed on to me free of charge, so I’ve decided to test them out for myself and see how I get on, and report back here with my findings.

I’ve never used these paints before, my usual acrylics are Tamiya or Gunze for spraying, and Vallejo model colour for brush painting. By all accounts these are very similar to Vallejo (possibly even made in the same factory if the internet is to be believed).

So how am I going to test these?

Well the original owner had limited success airbrushing these, so my efforts will focus on spraying them.

I’ve got a few airbrushes, but for starters I’m going to use my usual one, an Iwata HP-C+, which has a 0.3mm needle and nozzle. If I find the paint does not spray well through this, I also have a Harder and Steenbeck Silverline 2 in 1. This usually has a 0.2mm needle/nozzle, but it came with a 0.4mm nozzle/needle combination. I’ve never used the 0.4mm set up, but if the paint struggles to spray well through the Iwata this will be the perfect opportunity to try it out. The larger nozzle is designed to handle coarser pigments which may help in this case.

For thinning I’m going to try Vallejo Airbrush thinner first up. This should work quite well as Italeri’s paint may well be very similar to Vallejo. I’ve also got some distilled water which should work as well, if reports from the net are anything to go by. What I wont be using is Tamiya X20A, or other alcohol based thinners. I also don't expect lacquer thinners to be any use, although I may try this, just not in my air brush in case it turns to goo.